Projects

Photo credit: Helen Symons

The vision of the Mill River Greenway will be realized by the collective action of its volunteer members and community supporters.

Here is a list of projects on the Mill River that are either underway or in search of project leaders. Find one that interests you and jump on board.  We’ll be here to help you help the Mill River. Just contact info@millrivergreenway.org

Greenway Design and Construction

  • Williamsburg Greenway Committee.  Contact: Gaby Immerman info@millrivergreenway.org
  • Leeds Greenway Committee.  Contact: Heidi Stevens heidi@heidistevens.com or Jason Johnson cookjohnson@comcast.net
  • Bay State Greenway Committee  Contact: Jeff Dawson jdawson@coa.edu
  • Hidden Mill River/Downtown Northampton Contact: Wayne Feiden wfeiden@northamptonma.gov
  • Grow Food Northamtpon/Florence Recreation Fields Greenway Reach. Contact: info@millrivergreenway.org

Ecology and Sustainability

  • Managing Invasive Plants  Contact: Gaby Immerman infor@millrivergreenway.org
  • Water-quality Monitoring  Project leader: Connecticut River Watershed Council, Andrea Donlon adonlon@ctriver.org
  • Bird and Animal Sightings or  River Blog — awaiting a leader

Cultural and Historical Inventory and Archives

Art and Music

  • ArtShed Event for 2016 — Art and Music at Selected Sites Along the Mill River Scheduled for May 2016.  Contact: Todd Lynch todd@ecotropy.net

Communication, Public Education and Outreach

Mapping and Data

  • Mapping the Historic Mill River Contacts: John Sinton info@millrivergreenway.org, Reid Bertone-Johnson  rbertone@smith.edu, Eric Weber ewweber@comcast.net
  • Mill River Geographic Information System (GIS). Contact: rbertone@smith.edu

Food and Farms

  • Grow Food Northampton/Florence Fields. Contact: Gaby Immerman  info@millrivergreenway.org